Rugby sevens at the Olympic Summer games were played for the first time at the Summer Olympics games 2016 with both women’s and men’s contests. Fans from all over the world can book Olympic Rugby Tickets online.

Rugby sevens was added to the summer Olympics following the decision of the 121st IOC Meeting in Copenhagen October 2009. The winners for the opening rugby sevens tournament in 2016 were Fiji for the men and Australia for the women.

Efforts to include rugby sevens in the Olympics

Rugby sevens were one of five sports golf, karate, roller sports, rugby and squash that submitted a proposal to the IOC at the 117th IOC Session meeting in Singapore for presence in the 2012 games. 

Rugby sevens at Tokyo Olympic Summer Games 2020
Rugby sevens at Tokyo Olympic Summer Games 2020

Most recently rugby sevens contested with golf for 2 available spaces in the 2016 summer Olympics. The IRB used a number of high profile people and events to influence the IOC to include sevens at the 2016 games.

In March 2009, two senior delegates from the IOC attended the 2009 Rugby World Cup Sevens in Dubai at the invitation of the IRB. The event attracted 78,000 fans over the 3 days and saw Wales crowned Men’s World Champions and Australia won the first-ever Women’s World Cup.

Qualifying teams

12 rugby teams participate in the men’s and women’s competitions qualifying through one of the four following routes. Four teams qualify by finishing in the top four in the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Six teams qualify by finishing first in their respective continental championships Europe, Africa, Oceania, Asia, South America and North America. The host country qualifies automatically.

Rugby sevens at Tokyo Olympic Summer Games 2020

Competition format

Both the women’s and men’s competition contain two parts pool play followed by a knockout round. For pool play the twelve teams are divided into three pools of four teams each. Each team play the other three teams in the pool once.

At the end of pool play the eight best teams the top two from each group plus the two best third-place finishers qualify for the quarterfinals while the other four teams move to a consolation bracket. The knockout rounds proceed through the quarterfinals semifinals and finals. The winner of the finals earns the gold medal and the finals runner-up earns silver. The two losing semifinalists play a third-place playoff to determine who earns the bronze medal.

Olympic fans can get Olympic 2020 Tickets through our trusted online ticketing market place. is the most reliable source to book summer games tickets.